RESOLUTION RE: NATIONAL BOARD CERTIFICATION RECOGNITION CLASS OF 2022 AND 2022 RENEWED NATIONAL BOARD CERTIFIED TEACHERS

WHEREAS, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, organized in 1987, is comprised of teachers, school policy makers, union leaders, teacher educators and other scholars and legislators whose goal is to maintain high and rigorous standards for accomplished teachers; and

WHEREAS, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards has developed and operates a national voluntary system to assess and certify teachers who meet these standards, and to recognize teachers who demonstrate the highest levels of competency; and

WHEREAS, teachers who voluntarily submit to and successfully complete the rigorous multi-year National Board Certification process, earn the Illinois NBPTS Endorsement, a nationally recognized credential, symbolizing that the teacher has exceeded standard expectations; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certified Teachers have gone through a rigorous process to renew their credential after 10 years of service as a teacher, counselor, librarian, or administrator; and

WHEREAS, in partnership with the *Nurturing Teacher Leadership* program of the Chicago Teachers Union that has provided candidate support, NBC program management, mentoring, cohort facilitation, and professional development for CPS teachers, counselors, and librarians seeking National Board Certification; and

WHEREAS, a total of forty-nine Chicago Public Schools teachers, counselors, and librarians have earned this certificate in December of 2022; and a total of one-hundred-and-three National Board Certified Teachers have renewed this certificate in December of 2022, exemplifying the goals and standards that this Board of Education encourages all teachers, counselors, and librarians to emulate; and

WHEREAS, the 49 National Board Certified Teachers - Class of 2022 are:

Ira Abrams Kathie And Lucy Bannon Cary Bolnick Stephanie Bradley Morgan Brauer **Emily Cambern** Amanda Chilenski Sharon Coleman Gladys Joy de Guzman Leanne Dumais Natalie Episcopo Rasha Farmer Sarah Gayman Kathleen Gipson Alicia Gonzalez Christine Gray-Rodriguez

Heather Hanney Berenice Heinlein Elizabeth Holzman Molly Jourdan Krysten Karns Elizabeth Lopez Melanye Moore-Miller Vanessa Munoz Lucy Murguia Erin Nardone Laura Nunn Aidan O'Dowd-Ryan Michael Olszewski Marigold Perry Shanna Pierce Aileen Saccone **Chase Sanders**

Andrew Sons
Grace Sturtz
Susana Tapia-Alvarez
Shauntai Taylor
Allison Taylor
Justin Tressler
Rosa Urrutia
Emily Vaught
Eliot Velazquez
Johanna Villanueva
Vincent Vinluan
Jessica Wilkes
Amber Yeaton
Katherine Young
Hilens Zelaya

WHEREAS, the 103 National Board Certified Teachers who renewed their National Board Certification in 2022 are:

Kathleen Adamski Sherice Allen Eduardo Amezqueta-

Martinez
Lisa Anderson
Jessica Baker
Deborah Barnes
Angela Barrett
Jessica Barrie
Eurydice Bevly

Kristin Beyer

Jameelah Brown-Williams Mihaela Calafeteanu Anne Callaghan Debra Carriere-Lomax

Nicole Castro-McLaughlin Gina Cipriani Jessica Colon Ryan Coors Sarah Crawford Danielle D'Amore Anna Deters Kenneth Dobert James Eberle Reem Evangelista Neil Farlow

Meghan Fido Esther Foiles Patricia Freckelton Jessica General Samantha Godden-Chmielowicz James Greenwell Sarah Hanawalt Katrina Haynes

Nicole Ferrin

Patricia Hernandez Geoffrey Hiron Denise Howard Kristin Hu Erik Hull

Natalie lannessa Milagro Jump Daniel Kang Lillian Kass Philip Kendall Wajiha Khan Carmen Kile Walter Kinderman Amanda Kirshner Maria Klinger Lori Kunc Felicia Kyle Franchesca Little Adam Loredo Tina Mah Lee Marchesch Michael Mascarii

Michael Mascarii Sarah Mcgrath Heather McMartin Amanda McMonigal Stacy Medeiros-Delgado Amalia Melero

Dena Milano Meghan Murphy Kendra Murray Oscar Newman Adam Norman Elisabeth O'Keefe Chelita O'Neal Kathy O'Shea

de Carriedo

Melissa Olsen Ryan Peet Elisa Pena Israel Perez Aubrey Perlee Travis Pierce-Ryan Lorraine Platek Agnieszka Przeslicke Katie-jo Ramirez Samuel Rasch John Remiasz Elaine Robaczewski

Ana Rodriguez
Michael Rusin
Cathy Ruszel
Dawn Sakanis
Sergio Santillan
Valentina D Sorescu
Angeline Stewart
David Stieber
Susan Stone
John Sullivan
Gina Szulkowski
Neil Tejano
Peter Van
Javier Velazquez
Thomas Vlajkov

Javier Velazquez
Thomas Vlajkov
Pamela Wagner
Lisa Wagner
Mechelle Washington

Bridget Wright
Paula Wyatt
Joyce Yeagle

Christopher Zbasnik

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the President and Members of the Board of Education of the City of Chicago, gathered here this 22nd day of March 2023, do commend these one hundred fifty-two teachers, counselors, and librarians for their commitment to high and rigorous teaching standards and for receiving or renewing National Board Certification. We also encourage the Chicago Teachers Union Quest Center to continue their efforts in recruiting and providing support for more National Board Certified Teachers in our schools and to continue advocating for a commitment to high quality teaching for all teachers, counselors, and librarians.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this resolution be made available to the fortynine teachers, counselors, and librarians who have achieved National Board Certification in 2022, and to the one-hundred-and-three teachers, counselors, and librarians who have renewed their National Board Certification in 2022.