RESOLUTION RE: NATIONAL BOARD CERTIFICATION RECOGNITION CLASS OF 2021 AND 2021 RENEWED NATIONAL BOARD CERTIFIED TEACHERS

WHEREAS, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, organized in 1987, is comprised of teachers, school policy makers, union leaders, teacher educators and other scholars and legislators whose goal is to maintain high and rigorous standards for accomplished teachers; and

WHEREAS, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards has developed and operates a national voluntary system to assess and certify teachers who meet these standards, and to recognize teachers who demonstrate the highest levels of competency; and

WHEREAS, teachers who voluntarily submit to and successfully complete the rigorous multi-year National Board Certification process earn the Illinois NBPTS Endorsement, a nationally recognized credential, symbolizing that the teacher has exceeded standard expectations; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certified Teachers have gone through a rigorous process to renew their credential; and

WHEREAS, in partnership with the Nurturing Teacher Leadership program of the Chicago Teachers Union that has provided candidate support, NBCT program management, mentoring, cohort facilitation, and professional development for CPS teachers, counselors, and librarians seeking National Board Certification; and

WHEREAS, a total of fifty-eight Chicago Public Schools teachers, counselors, and librarians have earned this certificate in December of 2021; and a total of eighty-three National Board Certified Teachers have renewed this certificate in December of 2021, exemplifying the goals and standards that this Board of Education encourages all teachers, counselors, and librarians to emulate; and

WHEREAS, the fifty-eight National Board Certified Teachers – Class of 2021 – are:

Jasmine Anderson-Cruthird Tracy Hoffman Bethany Baltutat Katherine Kerivan Amy Betts Rebecca Leng Conor Cameron Thomas Leng Leah Carter Lauren Levites Felicia Cavitt Katherine Liao Kevin Connolly Elisa Lopez Mark Coogan Arlicia McClain Sarah Coogan Elliot Michel Joy Dickson Kelsie Mizel Alison Eichhorn Amy Mollenkamp Stephanie Faris **Enid Moore** Donna Figenshu Deirdre Morelli Jacqueline Gaiser Hillary Muñoz Joshua Gleicher Timothy Nystrand Henry Gomez Marley Olivera Nicole Pertile Sarah Greer Brandon Harding Devan Picard Emily Hoelter-Harris Margaret Pircon Vivian Redwood

Cintia Rodriguez Rebecca Rogers Jessica Rosenbaum Jamie Rossi Marisol Salgado Allison Schaefer Mashanda Scott Nell Seggerson Rose Semmel Derek Smith Keirstyn Stewart **Esther Taylor** Robin Thompson Jacqueline Travis Erica Tully Ryan Van Overbeke Esther Velazquez **Aaron Weiss** Amy Wiktor

WHEREAS, the eighty-three National Board Certified Teachers who renewed their National Board Certification in 2021 are:

Cynthia Alexander Sydney Davis Allen

Fabienne Anderson-Johnson

Kirsten Argyelan Deborah Banks Peter Barash Stacy Barrett Jennifer Barron

Arlene Bertoni-Mancine

Vivian Billups
Dagny Bloland
Susan Bohman
Cynthia Brawner
Christopher Bruge

Christopher Bruggeman Marcie Buckmaster

Marcie Buckmaste Gloria Cahill Siobhan Cassidy Jessica Coonley Maria DeArcos Catherine Ditto Manuela Diyarza Cynthia Domine Ryan Dooley Heather Duncan Susan Echeverria Amy Ellifritz Marisa Fontana Kavita Garg
Theresa Hehn
Casey Honeycutt
Beth Houghtby
Patrice Izard
Marianna Jennings
Shalynn Jennings-Mihuc
Cynthia Juarez

Dennis Kass
Debra Kearney
Anna Kolanczyk-Olech

Dekey Lama Kevin Lee

Kathleen Mahoney Sara Manseau Colin Mcgeehan Maria Miranda Andrea Montgomery

Michael Moriarty Rory Muchow Shemeka Nash Karen Neary Christiana Newbill Barbara Newton

Franci Nimpson-Boateng

Justin Nowak Christina O'Leary Jennifer Pestich Melissa Potts Leah Radinsky Nathan Ramin Eliza Ramirez

Cheryl Reynolds-Fefles Misty Richmond Shirley Roberson Jennifer Rocque Lauren Rodriguez

Ja'Nean Rogers-Gayles

Mark Sidarous Jessica Siegel Sara Simon James Staros Madilyn Strentz

Eu Tang

Margaret Taylor Fontane Thomas Monique Thorpe Mary Tripp Claudia Vailant Allison Vogt

Kimberly Walls- Kirk Jennifer Watson Danielle Williams Demetrice Williams

Sara Zoldan

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the President and Members of the Board of Education of the City of Chicago, gathered here this 25th day of May 2022, do commend these one hundred forty-one teachers, counselors, and librarians for their commitment to high and rigorous teaching standards and for receiving or renewing National Board Certification. We also encourage the Chicago Teachers Union Quest Center to continue their efforts in recruiting and providing support for more National Board Certified Teachers in our schools and to continue advocating for a commitment to high quality teaching for all teachers, counselors, and librarians.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this resolution be made available to the fiftyeight teachers, counselors, and librarians who have achieved National Board Certification in 2021, and to the eighty-three teachers, counselors, and librarians who have renewed their National Board Certification in 2021.